VI RESTITUIRÓ … IL BLOG


000111111139559861

I haven’t posted in quite sometime. I could offer up an excuse – work, graduate school, internet woes – or I could just skip that and get to the important part: I am back!

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been living in Milan for the past 20 months working towards an MA in Visual Arts and Curatorial Studies. Along with having made what looks to be a rather permanent move, I’ve also managed to get a job playing tour guide and mentor to undergraduate students studying abroad (sweet gig, if you ask me!)

A good many things have happened since I last posted something on here, but it would take more than one post to include everything. So I’ll just stick to the important part: I LIVE IN ITALY (the rest, in my opinion, is irrelevant).

When I was 17 I studied in the medieval town of Siena for a summer and fell in love with a culture. And for the past decade I’ve been trying my best to embed myself more permanently in this amazing place and it looks as though at the young age of twenty-nine I am doing just that.

  1. Two weeks ago I sent in my paperwork to claim residency in Milan.
  2. I have a job, albiet part-time and through an American company, but it’s a job based in Milan.
  3. I have a contract with a cellphone company – while this may seem trivial, for me it’s like getting into a serious relationship – finances have been discussed, papers signed – in other words I’ve committed myself to this country for another two years and Vodafone was the priest.
  4. I own a bike. Again, this may seem trivial, but I view it as my anchor-baby. If one day, the authorities come to take me away, I can claim that there is no way I could leave ‘Consentida‘ (Her previous owner named her, I didn’t) by herself. And how dare they take me away from my child. I know, a dog would probably work better, but unfortunately I don’t have the time nor the finances to take care of another living being.
  5. I have insurance. This is probably the true sign of adulthood.
  6. I am the proud owner of a frequent shopper card for both my local grocery store as well as TrenItalia. Obviously the two most important things when living abroad are travel and food, and I’ve made damn well sure I get great deals on both.

Anyways, back to the point of this post: I am back.

What does this mean? This means that I plan to actually update on a more regular basis. I already have a couple posts lined up: one about the lovely time I spent in Viareggio this Spring and another detailing my fantastic adventures in Liguria that a dear friend and I had this past weekend (which included this delicious view).

IMG_0812

Until then, internet people, travel on!

Leave a Reply

