Dear Palio – I cheated on you, I’m sorry


Caro Palio:

I have a confession. It’s very difficult to tell you because I really do love you. I love watching you race. Your energy. Your vibrant colors. All of it. It’s intoxicating. And I always do my best to not miss you race.  I always love pre-partying with you at Tartuca’s or at Selva’s. Remember that one year when Leocorno threw that awesome party?

But yeah.

I know I’m not there. And this distance between us can really be difficult, but I really do try to not miss a single moment. I’m trying to be as ‘there’ as I can even though I’m not, you know. There.

That’s why this is so difficult to tell you. I don’t want to hurt your feelings. And I don’t want you to think I don’t love you anymore. Because I do. I mean – I did give a glowing 10 minute speech about you in front of all my classmates when I was younger. That was so embarrassing by the way. But they loved you. I haven’t met anyone who doesn’t.  But — yeah. That’s why this is hard. The thing is. Well, I cheated on you.

And no, not with the Italia Wave Love Festival. Or with the that really good looking Lucca Festival. Although – I am going to be honest. They are both super super attractive.

I actually cheated on you with someone here called Outside Lands. He lives in San Francisco.

I am not going to say it didn’t mean anything. Because it did. It was epic. It was mind blowing. But I am going to tell you that it doesn’t mean I don’t still absolutely adore you. It doesn’t mean I don’t want to be with you. Because I do. In my defense, right when I got home I watched you race. You were brilliant. I am so happy for you and Tartuca.

I just want to be honest with you. Because this long-distance relationship is starting to take it’s toll on me. And I think it’s time we’ve had this conversation and act like adults.

I think it’s time we just be honest with each other: our relationship is open. I know you and Tartuca are going to be celebrating for the next month or so, just like you and Selva did in July.

I miss you terribly.

Lots of love from California,

A Tuscan stuck in Davis.

PS: Outside really wants to meet you. I showed him photos and the video below and he thinks you are all sorts of awesome.

 

Read Original Letter on DearEurope – complete with photos.

2 responses to “Dear Palio – I cheated on you, I’m sorry

  1. Great Writing style. By the way, what kind of event Palio and Is it strictly a horse racing event? It sure draws a crowd of spectators.

    • Thanks, Little!!

      It’s a horserace held in Siena, Italy twice a year – on July 2nd and August 16th.
      There are 17 neighborhoods (contrade) in Siena. And ten race bareback during each race. The races are part of a celebration for the Madonna of Provenzano (July 2nd) and the Assumption of the Virgin Mary (August 16th).

      It’s craaazy. Lots of parades, parties, etc. lead up to each race. And they convert the main piazza into a racetrack. Preparing for the Palio is a year long thing. And the neighborhood that wins each race celebrates the rest of the year.

      There’s a pretty informative site about it here.

Leave a Reply

